Lucid Dream Mask Device – Similar to Novadreamer

August 27, 2007 at 1:53 pm (Oddly Intriguing, Tech Geekery, Uncategorized)

Nate True wearing his Lucidity MaskNate True, who invented the Time Fountain, has made and invented so many things! One of the awesome things that is especially relevant to me, is that he’s devised a device that is meant to alert a sleeping, dreaming person, to the fact that they are dreaming. This state of being/activity is called “Lucid Dreaming”, and is a subject that I found out about during college, and researched extensively. The device is thus called a Lucid Dreaming Mask.

Novadreamer KitThe only LD mask ever produced in any kind of quantity (that I know of) was called the Novadreamer. It was retailed for somewhere between $120 and $175 (I cannot recall, it’s been around 9 years since I first found out about them) and the quantities produced were always bought up quickly, I’m pretty sure, making them scarce, especially when they stopped producing them, Uhhh maybe around ’00. At that point, they were sold on a used-only basis, mostly on e-bay for prices over $200, often $260ish. So the major theme you see with these masks is that they are not terribly inexpensive. That’s in part due to the fact that they had lots of settings, options, some had software that came with, and all of this was to help the dreamer fine-tune their experience. A neat point was that the folks who had done the most scientific research and writing on the LD subject were the folks who invented, designed, and sold the mask. So you were supporting the research in a small way.

Nate True’s device operates on similar assumptions as the Novadreamer, but he chooses a much simpler way to go about it. It’s also much more cost-effective, if you solder at all, you can buy the kit, which costs a mere $30.

If you need more information about Lucid Dreaming, or still don’t feel like you have a solid concept of what it is, or why anyone would bother with it, please visit the Lucidity Institute’s Lucid Dreaming FAQ. The Lucidity Institute is an organization that has done the majority of scientific and anecdotal research on the subject of LD. They have a slight New-Age bent, in that they are not unfriendly to the ideas of those seeking “Out of Body Experiences” and the like, and I do not favor that type of mysticism, but the Institute also has a very strong foundation in the scientific method, and relies on actual facts and test data involving LD to study it. I agree completely with Nate True, when he says:

I think lucid dreaming in general has been hijacked by the new-age people who try to tack it onto nonsense like astral projection, out-of-body experiences, telepathy, precognition, and so on. That sort of thing hurts the credibility of lucid dreaming as a practice and art form.

I couldn’t agree more strongly with this. The practice itself, and the discipline itself are not New-Agey in the slightest. There is plenty of evidence and proof that it is a simple mental discipline, kin to learning a new skill or language, and there is no ‘magic’ or hokey supernatural beliefs involved. One can see, though, how easy it would be to attach such beliefs or expectations onto the practice, and many do, to the discipline’s detriment, in my opinion. Ah well. I simply harvest the good information, while ignoring the mystical add-ons. (Please understand, I do not condemn those who do favor such beliefs, LD-related or otherwise to be ‘stupid people’ in any way, but I do have a firm opinion that the application of these beliefs to the practice of LD is not good for LD in general.)

I have had many Lucid Dreaming experiences On-Demand, that happened because I intended it, and I’ve also had many occur spontaneously, simply because I was dreaming, noticed a ‘dreamsign’, did a reality-test, and determined myself to be dreaming. Noticing ‘dreamsigns’, or clues that you’re probably dreaming, is a thing one can learn, but it is only one weapon in the aspiring Lucid Dreamer’s arsenal.

Exploring the World of Lucid DreamingThe primary scientist at Stanford University to study Lucid Dreaming scientifically and in-depth is Stephen LaBerge, and he has written several books that I recommend reading when you’re researching Lucid Dreaming. His is kind of the “original” work relating to the subject, meaning it was mainly first, and the most legitimate piece of research-based writing on the subject. Visit a list of his books and research papers here. Scroll down on the page, I recommend clicking on “Contents: Chapter outline of the contents of Exploring the World of Lucid Dreaming”. The entire 6th chapter of the book is available online, there, and it’s a good chapter, IMO. That book is the one I suggest you read, if you’re only going to read one book on the subject.

I will have to update this post when I get my Lucid Dream Induction Mask assembled and myself trained to it. I will let you know how it works for me! I am excited about the possibilities, I’ve always wanted one of these things.

EDIT: Ok! I got my mask kit yesterday, now I just have to bug Kanten to build it….

7 Comments

  1. Oreet said,

    *comments*

  2. Rhayne said,

    I corresponded with Dr. LaBerge during my undergrad studies after reading this Lucid Dreaming book.

    The “Novadreamer” was, in fact, not the first design that was made available. I believe the first one, which was offered by the Lucidity Institute, was call the “DreamLight.” (yes here it is… I found it in one of his papers: http://www.asdreams.org/journal/articles/laberge5-3.htm). This DreamLight was offered by the Institute itself, I think, until an outside organization picked up the product and named it NovaDreamer.

    Anyway, I studied lucid dreaming for a time. It’s been a while since I experienced it though. I used to have them spontaneously and then sought to increase their frequency because…well…they’re so fun! I always make sure I fly when I realize I’m dreaming. ^_^

  3. Sy said,

    Ah, yes, I knew about the DreamLight, but wasn’t sure how many were made or what the history on that was. Thanks, Rhayne! Corresponded with him, eh? Neat! I can’t wait to try out this other masky deal and see how it works for me!

  4. Bruce said,

    We took the Nova Dreamer to the next level.
    Bruce

  5. Sy said,

    Comment deleted due to foul language. If the gentleman would like to post again, sans language, he’s free to do so. Your opinion is respected, however the language is not.

  6. Victor King said,

    Delete this candy ass – who are you Nate True’s cornholee?

  7. saintC said,

    I have lucid dreams 2-3 times per week, and have been cultivating the gift since 2000 when I had the 1st one.

Leave a Reply

