Athanasius Kircher Society – The Wierdness Club!

August 27, 2007 at 12:53 pm (Oddly Intriguing, Sweet Websites, Uncategorized)

Kircher LogoI think I must join The Athanasius Kircher Society. According to the site, their purpose is

“to perpetuate the spirit and sensibilities of the late Athanasius Kircher, SJ. Our interests extend to the wondrous, the curious, the singular, the esoteric, and the sometimes hazy frontier between the plausible and the implausible — anything that Father Kircher might find inspiring if he were alive today.”

Kircher Ash Figures of PompeiiSo I think it’s like Ripley’s believe it or Not, but with a little more class. Just my kind of thing. I heard of the society while researching Miracle Fruit, which will be another post, (At the same time, I learned about the Time fountain which will also be posted about.) and after spending hours at their website over the past several days, I have to say that it’s absolutely enthralling. You have to take some of the more crazy things with a grain of salt, but most of the stuff on there is true, just bizzare.

Here’s a sample of an entry on their website:

The Jericho Rose - Kircher Society

And that is one of the tamer bits.

Kircher-like BookI love learning about odd and unusual things. When I was little, my aunt had this series of hardbound books (Published by TIME?) that were all dedicated to strange and unusual people, happenings, science, animals, coincidences, disorders, etc. I found it so fascinating, that she eventually decided to give the books to me, the whole set! I have them around somewhere. Someday when I have a proper house, I’ll have to put them on display, for some other kid to visit and become enthralled with.
(I searched for forever, and finally found an ok-quality reference to this series online. Here’s all I was able to come up with. http://tinyurl.com/25uw98 I had really been hoping for a description meant to sell the series, so it would have some actual info about the books, phaugh.)

Leave a Reply

