Strange Demeter fragrances reviewed by Sy

September 11, 2007 at 7:13 pm (Oddly Intriguing)

demetergroup1.png

They have arrived! My little fragrance samples from Demeter.com are here!

If you’re just tuning in, my initial blogosphere post about these guys is located here: Eau de Thunderstorm

I didn’t have anything better to do on my lunchbreak today, and UPS tracking said they’d been delivered at my place that morning, so I swung by and picked them up in the middle of the day. (read: I nearly shouted out loud at work when I saw “Delivered”, and rushed home in a lather. It happened to be lunch-time.)

So here goes:

The one everyone’s most curious about:

Play-doh

demeterplaydoh2.jpg I am very disappointed to report that this does not smell like Play-Doh. I had the pleasure of sniffing actual Play-Doh recently, and it smelled just like I remembered it did. It smells kinda salty, and with that special Play-Doh fragrance they give it. This cologne smells nothing like it. It smells a little like cake, actually, and something else. Something else that is also not Play-Doh. This makes me a very sad panda. I was just so sure that if I hated most of them, that they at least could get Play-Doh correct. *sigh*

(note: I did actually wear this for about a half hour, to see if somehow it just didn’t smell like Play-Doh in the bottle, but it magically might if I wore it on my skin. No dice. It continued in its infuriating lack of resemblance to Play-Doh. I washed it off.)

Grass

demetergrass2.jpg The stuff in this little bottle bears a very slight resemblance to short, bladed plant material. But it’s pretty slight. This is supposed to smell like Centipede Grass, (as mentioned in my other post) which I have almost certainly never sniffed, but unless this special grass smells very much like a perfume, I doubt that the odors are identical. The scent is slightly grassy, as I know it, but it’s far too sweet, and resembles much more closely some sort of cleaning product, which one I can’t put my finger on. Final analysis: I don’t really like it. =/

Lychee

demeterlychee2.jpgThe lychee fruit is a fragrant and special treat. Its flesh is translucent white, and the consistency is very much like a grape. The perfumy smell is that of, well, lychee, and also of rosewater, interestingly. It is delicious and exotic.

My main concern with this Demeter fragrance is that the sweet fruity part of the smell is there, along with a too-large percentage of roses. If you sniff straight from the bottle, you can smell the fruitiness. But the tiny amount of leakage on the outside of the bottle, when sniffed with the cap on, smells only of rose. I can only assume that it would do much the same thing on one’s skin. This is truly a shame! The fruity bit is my favorite part, but the rose component really overpowers and outlasts it, in this cologne. Bummer.

Christmas Tree

demeterxmastree2.jpg This smells like a fir tree! At this time I have no complaints. It smells nothing like Pine-Sol, which is plainly a plus. It doesn’t seem to have a lot of extra smells in there. As advertised!

Snow

demetersnow22.pngThis smells like the sort of cologne that some old men wear. I am not kidding. It does smell a little dusty, as they mentioned it would, but the rest reeks of “old dude”. I am profoundly disappointed. This smells like a cologne, not like anything in nature. =(

Raindemeterrain2.jpg

As one might well expect, Demeter’s Snow and Rain share a common element. Unfortunately, it is the “Old Man” element. =/

It is brighter, crisper, and sniffing it out of the bottle, it almost reminds me of mandarin oranges, but when worn, it loses that. On, it smells like a cologne. This is definitely a cologne that has been given a fanciful name, “Rain”.

Being a city girl, I associate the smell of rain with the peculiar way that rain smells on cement and pavement, grass, and beauty bark. I rather like it. But I have smelled rain in the country and the forest on many occasions, and I think it’d be safe to say that nowhere in the world, does rain smell like the perfume in this bottle. It is not extremely unpleasant, but I would not wear it, either.

Cucumber

demetercucumber2.jpg This one is pretty nice! It seems quite a bit too sweet, I was hoping for a very ‘vegetable’ odor, but overall, this one is tied with Christmas Tree for “Best of the Bunch.” If I was a perfume wearer, I would wear this.

It is not, however, very different from the fragrances of the various cucumber-scented personal care products out there. It’s fairly garden-variety in that respect. It may be a little deeper and more authentic, but at first whiff, it’s the same as the cucumber facial masks, etc. that I’ve smelled before.

So, all in all, I don’t like the bulk of these, and I don’t like any of the ‘weird’ named ones. I think I’d have relative confidence that Demeter can reproduce the myriad of one-note flower and fruit scents that they have, but anything too odd, and my confidence falters.

I can’t decide at this point if I should return them, or perhaps send them to friends who want to smell, but the idea of mailing them (and thus spending more money on them) is kind of a bummer. Perhaps I could drip them on paper or something and mail them like letters. Hmm! If you want that, please let me know, that’d be hella easy.

I’m sorry this couldn’t be more of an exciting report, but c’est la vie.

~fin~

16 Comments

  1. Ego said,

    Awww, that’s no fun at all! *grump*

    I’m sad that so many of them were bad. And especially sad at the lychee one – I dislike the “normal” scent of roses and would have been verra upset.

    (I love the smell of yellow roses, that almost-fruity rose. Just not the red/pink roses that most people think of when they think “rose-scented”)

    The idea of mailing them as a scent on a card is interesting, but would only work for one card per letter, I think, for fear of them turning into AAAH smelljumble.

    *grump*

  2. Ashlen said,

    “The lychee fruit is a fragrant and special treat. Its flesh is translucent white, and the consistency is very much like a grape. ”

    LIES

  3. Sy said,

    *cackles* But it’s truth, I swear! Lychee hater!

  4. Spring Joy said,

    that stinks!!!! :-/ :-)

  5. Lesley said,

    Hello. I am hooked on trying new Demeter scents. I have had ups and downs. I would like to try before I buy, but the samples are so expensive, and I’ve found a site that sells the 4 ounces from $14 – $22, free shipping!
    Anyway, I am disappointed that there are not more reviews for Demeter. So, in hopes of helping others, here are the ones I’ve tried and my reviews:
    Rain- agreed with most of the above. Very citrusy. A slight rain smell, but more a smell of being in a damp orange grove or something.
    Suntan Lotion- ALL TIME FAVE. Smells just like HT Suntan Lotion.
    Salt Air- GREAT. You can tell it’s salty smelling air, but very clean too.
    Mojito- At first, smells like mint and lime. The lime fades immediately, then you just smell a minty powder. It’s okay, I still wear it.
    Giant Sequoia- Very light, feminine musk smell. It’s nice, but fades quickly. Smells nothing like a tree.
    Fig Leaf- not for me. I can’t even describe it.
    Waffle Cone- smells just like a waffle cone. Lasts longer than others.
    Kahula Coconut- has a very synthetic coconut smell. The synthetic doesn’t go away.

    On the way to me are Dirt, Wet Garden and Grass. I am excited. We’ll see!

    I really hope people add more reviews for Demeter.

  6. Greetings From Seattle: Demeter Rain PMU Fragrance Review | EauMG said,

    […] Sy’s Murmurs & Mumbles […]

  7. expert call center Hillerød said,

    This article is genuinely a pleasant one it assists
    new the web people, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  8. Sidney said,

    The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if
    it can survive a twenty five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now broken and she
    has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had
    to share it with someone!

  9. Janelle said,

    This is a topic that is near to my heart… Take care!
    Where are your contact details though?

  10. Norine said,

    Hey there terrific website! Does running
    a blog like this take a great deal of work? I’ve absolutely no knowledge
    of computer programming however I had been hoping
    to start my own blog soon. Anyways, if you have any
    recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off subject however I just had to ask.
    Cheers!

  11. Mariana said,

    I think the admin of this web page is actually working hard for his website,
    since here every data is quality based information.

  12. call center Gladsaxe said,

    Hi to every one, the contents present at this
    website are actually amazing for people experience, well,
    keep up the good work fellows.

  13. Fleta said,

    My brother suggested I might like this website.
    He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info!
    Thanks!

  14. John said,

    Fantastic blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed ..
    Any recommendations? Thanks!

  15. Birgit said,

    Hey there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  16. Santo said,

    Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed
    to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware
    of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while
    people consider worries that they plainly do not know
    about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having
    side effect , people could take a signal. Will probably be
    back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

