I’m addicted to Caffeine. Maybe. (Update)

September 23, 2007 at 5:45 pm (Health Issues)

Well, I’ve been paying attention, this last week…

Seems like it takes about 1.5 to 2 days for my headaches to kick in, after the last dose of caffeine. A pretty small dose of caffeine totally kills a caffeine headache.

And yesterday, I noticed that my other, non-caffeinated energy drink might actually be a strong catalyst for my headaches. I’m still investigating that. I drank some, and wham, the tiny headache just blossomed almost instantly. That was weird. Still need to check that out.

So I’m at 1.3 days without caffeine atm, and I’m on asparin for the pain. Regular aspirin seems to be working just fine. Tomorrow, I’ll work out in the morning with no energy drink at all, but in the afternoon or evening, I’ll let the aspirin wear off, and then take some of my non-caffeinated energy drink and see what happens. It’s kinda hard to test out what it does to me, if I’m on aspirin all the time, except for the test, hmm. Not sure how that’ll work out.

Not a terribly riveting update, but I thought I should post something.

UPDATE II: Sept 25th, 6AM

2.5 Days with no Caffeine, Last time I had some was Sat. Afternoon. I did forget yesterday about chocolate, and I ate the chocolate coating off of a mini-size candy bar. It was very thin chocolate, not like the thick coating of a snickers bar. Anyhoo. This morning, I took a full-strength dose of that other energy drink, [in preparation for the workout that I didn’t do, due to some chick being on my machine at the gym (Long story =P)], and it doesn’t seem to be giving me a headache at all, so that’s good!

UDDATE III: October 25th

Well, I was off caffeine for a while, and I did get at least two more headaches of “that type”. They didn’t seem to be related to the last time I’d had caffeine, tho. Hmm. I haven’t had any of those headaches for a few weeks now. I also haven’t had any depression at all for several weeks now, which is awesome. But I never had headaches all through the most-of-the-year that my depression was the worst, tho. So that’s probably not related. I’m back to using caffeine casually now, and actually right at this time, every morning, since I’m out of my ‘new’ workout drink, I’ve gone back to my old one. If there’s anything to report, I’ll report it!

Leave a Reply

