Sy loves Graffiti: Traincars

February 23, 2008 at 5:44 pm (Art, My Outings)

I have been traveling on the weekends lately for my insurance business, and I keep seeing this long string of traincars along the freeway, off the road a bit, that have some graffiti on them. From what I could see, some of it was pretty good! I kept thinking that I’d stop sometime and go see if I could get close enough to take pictures of them. But it was always raining, or late, or really cloudy, or I was in a hurry, etc. WELL. This last weekend, it was actually sunny out, and I had some time after my final appointment, so my hubby and I decided to give it a go! We drove out to the closest road we could figure to where the traincars were at, and hiked the 1/4 mile or so out to them. And then the cars themselves were about 1/4 mile long as well! With graffiti on every single car. We took lots of pics, and I wanted to share them with you! Click to enlarge. Enjoy!

Joyns:

dsc021255.jpg

.

Unknown:

dsc02129.jpg

.

.

“5ACTO”? “FYSR”? Not sure.

dsc02130.jpg

Detail:

dsc02131.jpg

.

.

My hubby liked this little guy: “SKOOB”?

dsc02133.jpg

.

.

SPOK:

dsc02134.jpg

Here, we climbed through a connection to the other side of the train, and found another SPOK tag…

dsc02135.jpg

.

.

A rather plain-speaking vandal leaves his mark:

dsc02136.jpg

.

.

More white-pen work…

dsc02137.jpg

.

.

SKETCH5 here seems to have made some white-pen wielding enemies….

dsc02138.jpg

.

.

Under this is written “WASTED DRUNK’D” but that’s not what the tag appears to say. Not sure what it says.

dsc02139.jpg

.

.

No idea.

dsc02140.jpg.

.

Different! I likes it.

dsc02141.jpg

.

.

I took the picture of this one shortly before realizing that the artists often ‘signed’ their tags with a much more readable print, thus ‘decoding’ their tag art into actual letters the layman could read. But because I hadn’t realized that yet, I didn’t include the key, which is in the lower left hand corner. “ESA” is all we get of this one. Perhaps “LIESA” Or “LISA”. “GESA”? Hmm…..

dsc02142.jpg

.

.

Voted “The awesomest tag” on the trip, RAIN is a really neat one, and it’s one of the tags I saw from the freeway and liked. It looks a little like it might be “RAINS” but it was signed just “rain” so I think the squiggle at the end is just decorative. Notice it says “Huge Reps” up in the corner. Lol, I thought that was funny.

dsc02143.jpg
Another view of RAIN: ( I didn’t notice until typing this that the R is backwards in this tag. The brain is a weird thing. )

dsc02144.jpg

.

.

One of the Many GNOSIS tags on these cars. I think GNOSIS is a tag I recognize from elsewhere, but I couldn’t tell you where. He has a very uniform style across his tags.

dsc02145.jpg

.

.

Interesting looking tag. No sig/key on this one. Your guess is as good as mine.

dsc02146.jpg

.

.

Some ‘evidence’ left behind, along the tracks…

dsc02147.jpg

.

.

Apparently, burning out railroad ties is a fun thing to do when you’re out tagging with your buddies. We saw about 5 of these out there.

dsc02155.jpg

.

.

This accompanied a pair of tags that were done in the same style, next to each other. They were 3 letters each, and each tag covered a whole car, top to bottom. Very large. Then they repeated the tags on the next two cars, but mirrored. (Backwards)

dsc02148.jpg

.

.

“VASKOE”?

dsc02150.jpg

.

.

Nice, clear key: “SANE”. This was the last car in the row. We were getting a little tired.

dsc02151.jpg

.

.

While we were taking photos of the final car, a BIG dog came up to the tracks from the bushes about 20 meters away. He barked at us one time, then sauntered back into the bushes the way he came. I barely had time to notice him before he was already shambling away. I’m really glad he did, we had no weapons with which to fight off a large dog. It spooked us a little. For the record, if it would have attacked, or come closer, I would have suggested to hubby that we yell at it and try to look large and sound mean. Unless the dog is REALLY determined, this usually works. Eek.

dsc02152.jpg

.

.

Time to head back!

dsc02153.jpg

.

.

dsc02157.jpg

.

.

Mr GAFIS here apparently fancies the title “The Panty Droper”

gafis.jpg

.

.

tag2.jpg

.

.

I really liked the colors of this one. The photo got a bit washed-out. Pity.

tag3.jpg

.

.

“KATIE”. So cute!

tag4.jpg

.

.

I liked the look of this one, particularly the technique used on the tops of the letters, the feathering, there…

tag5.jpg

.

.

Kanten saw this one from further away than I did, and pointed out it was a snail or something. I stepped back, and then I could see it. These all looked way better from the freeway or from way back. I think this guy actually looks like a nerd. From the candy boxes?

tag6.jpg

.

.

This was pretty creepy. Some of the cars’ doors were open, and people had gotten up in there and painted inside. This one says “BLOOD” prominently, and right above it is written “F— the Bloods” in a different hand. I imagine that these cars have been down to California. I kept poking my head into the cars, half expecting to find a bum or a body. o_o

tag7.jpg

.

.

I just found this funny: “R U FAKIN, OR 4 REAL?”

tag8.jpg

.

.

Another “RAIN”. I can’t figure out if this is a tribute, or if RAIN actually did it. There’s two tags on top of each other here. I wonder who wrote the “I <3 Me” lol.

tag9.jpg

tag10.jpg

.

.

And, finally, the last pic we took: The GNOSIS tag we liked the best. He uses a lot of silver. I wonder who it is who loves Kyra.

tag11.jpg

.

Welp, that took forever. 2.75 hours to post all that. Phew! I think it might have taken longer than the hike itself! =P Hope you enjoyed the pics, please feel free to comment, especially if you’re good at reading tags! I’d love to have translations or backstories on some of them.

-Sy

7 Comments

  1. spring said,

    wow this is the best Blog! How neat that you had the guts and the initiative to go out and take pictures! I love it!!! i like the nerds one Too :-) I kind of like the red one I am not sure why

    Spring

  2. Kyle said,

    I found this blog while trying to figure out where Gnosis is from.
    I’m not sure where you are. I saw this train on my drive between Seattle and Portland. I believe it was in the Centralia area. If not this same train than one very similar/the cars have moved. It has the KYT/DTC “full-cars” with the matching mirrored as well as 4 cars with Gnosis on them. KYT/DTC is a crew with members all over the US. There are a few KYT people in Seattle (see interview with Eski from Seattlle here: http://www.cloutonline.com/?q=node/595 ) There was also a throw-up by Bonus, who I believe is a Portland area artist as Bonus is up all over the PDX area.

  3. Sy said,

    Yeah, right near Centralia. These cars haven’t moved in forever. Thanks for the info, that’s cool!

  4. cameron said,

    that last one. SANE (RIP)
    hes a legend
    i actually saw one like that on a train over by me
    im in cornwall
    about 45 minutes from NYC
    one of my fav artists

  5. Sy said,

    Update on these rollers: They’re gone. It was awesome to have them around while they were here. I’ve no idea where they are now.

  6. Hip said,

    Send me an email I have something to tell you

  7. Ashli said,

    Well I am from Liberal Kansas and have seen some of this same stuff around here! I love it! It is amazing to me. Thanks for this blog. I actually found it when I googled railroad ties trying to find a pic of one for work.

Leave a Reply

