T-shirt reconstruction: Sy Style

March 12, 2008 at 10:45 am (Crafting)

generationt.pngI bought the book Generation T, and I’m quite inspired! I went hunting in my room for old t-shirts that are too big/old/ugly to wear, (I used to favor larger shirts, but not so much any more) and I found a TON! Far more than I’d expected, and I even swiped a few of my hubby’s old tees with cool logos that he isn’t wearing any more. Have a look! Click to see better.

tshirts-big-view.jpg

Close-ups:

tshirts-detail-1.jpg

tshirts-detail-2.jpg

tshirts-detail-4.jpg

tshirts-detail-5.jpg

So here’s the deal! I’ll probably be transforming these tshirts over the next few months, and I’ll be excited to post the results here! Last night, I started working on my favorite of the bunch (!!!! Nerve-wracking!) The Edward Gorey Bat/Moon shirt. That moon glows in the dark, but lacks the silly greenish color you’d expect to see during the day. ftw. I’m making it into a lace-back corset type thing. Hope to show you soon! ^_^

The awesome thing about tshirt cloth is, that it’s made with Jersey Knit. Which won’t fray or unravel if you cut it up. So you can take scissors to it, and you don’t have to sew or hem those edges! This rocks. Hence the popularity of this trend! I swear i’m totally on the tail end of this trend, but I expect to have a lot of fun with it, just the same.

Stay tuned!

2 Comments

  1. Unit said,

    Sy, geez, I am hella stoked for your sweet new threads. When I worked at a bookstore not too long ago Generation T was a crazy seller, and the few times I flipped through it it made me wish that I was craft-inclined in any way, because I can’t even operate a sewing machine properly.

    PLEASE MAKE THE LACE-BACK CORSET TYPE THING RIGHT AWAY BECAUSE I REALLY NEED TO SEE IT.

    Like why are you even reading this instead of making the thing, GET BACK TO WORK.

    <3,

    Una/Unity

  2. spring said,

    wow cool project!

    spring

Leave a Reply

