Mini Bundt Shortbreads

November 13, 2008 at 10:48 am (Of interest to Foodies)

So I got this mini-bundt pan at the same time as I got the cupcake caddy.

The packaging shows chocolates, but says it’s great for baked goods, too! Each little cavity holds 1/12 cup. O_O!  I decided last night to go ahead and try something, something that I knew wouldn’t stick, so I didn’t even grease the pan. My Brown Sugar Shortbread! 1c Butter, 1/2c Brown Sugar, 2c Flour. That’s it! I whipped it up and pressed little bits of dough into the cavities, and baked for 20 minutes at 325 degrees. Here’s what came out.

The details on them show true in the photo, what you see here (The level of detail) is just about exactly the level of detail the shortbreads held onto. Which isn’t much, but it’s a very grainy, crumbly cookie, so I’m not surprised, really. I think perhaps a very dense cake would do much better, like pound cake. Also, then you could coat with a thin ganache, and that would pop the details out even more!

Of course, the goodies that will really shine, coming out of this pan will be the chocolate truffles. I’m looking forward to trying it!

Leave a Reply

