Mango Mochi: First time success!

March 1, 2009 at 9:58 pm (Of interest to Foodies)

I needed to make a snack for a thing I was going to, and I decided to make mochi. I’ve never made mochi before. I don’t even like mochi.

But the day before, I’d seen a mochi recipe that actually looked like it might be sorta good (even though I don’t, as a rule, enjoy most mochi) [ Mango Mochi Recipe ] , so I made a snap decision to give it a try.

Mochi is a very very popular confection/pastry/type-thing in Japan and China, and probably other places, too. It’s a little odd by western standards. It can be plain or filled with a red bean paste/fresh fruit/ice cream/other filling. It’s definitely a beautiful treat:

dept-store-mochi

strawberry-mochi

wood-mochi

mochi-case

 

The dough that it’s made of doesn’t taste funny or bad, it just doesn’t taste much. At all. Like anything. But it’s  very very chewy. So that’s…… weird, for westerners. My goal with mochi, then, is to make it as flavorful as possible, and use great fillings, to make it more palatable for first-timers (read: folks who didn’t grow up with this treat).

I used the recipe on the above site (Which is think is flawed, the rice is measured in g, while the liquid in mg, and, extrapolating from other mochi recipes, the amount of sweet rice flour to liquid is supposed to be about even.) I added equal amounts, by weight, of the rice flour, and the liquid ( I used mango nectar, mango-orange juice and fresh squeezed lemon juice!), and it was waaay sticky. Like a very very thick dry ball that couldn’t be mixed. The picture on the website, however, showed a thin batter. Hmm. I added a whole lot more liquid, until it vaguely resembled a batter, then popped it into the micro for 5 minutes, loosely covered. 

I tried to make the mochi while the mochi was still warm – bad move. I made some more later when it was completely cool, and it was tons easier. The stuff sticks to EVERYTHING! Fingers, knives, plastic wrap, tables, you name it. After a couple of failed attempts to use plastic wrap to shape them, (it stuck to the plastic wrap like you can’t believe) I tried to look online to see if there was a proper way to handle the goop to get it to behave. I didn’t find anything helpful. OK THEN, time to come up with my own idea. I lightly oiled a piece of plastic wrap (quite lightly) and tried it that way. The dough didn’t stick to it! I made the first mochi, and found that the slight oil that clung to the mochi didn’t prevent the coconut from sticking to the ball. Whew. Repeat x30! 

I’ll have to make this again, and take more careful note of the ingredient amounts. I am very interested in making a mochi that first-timers will enjoy very much, and to my mind, that means making the dough as flavorful as humanly possible! I’ll have to share, next time I make it. 

Here are the pics from the process!

Coaxing the Mochi dough out with a knife ( I should have used a plastic spoon for this)

Coaxing the Mochi dough out with a knife ( I should have used a plastic spoon for this)

Dallop of mochi dough on VERY LIGHTLY oiled saran wrap

Dallop of mochi dough on VERY LIGHTLY oiled saran wrap

Wetting fingertips, this stuff is sticky as heck.

Wetting fingertips, this stuff is sticky as heck.

Stretch #1

Stretch #1

Stretch #3 or 4 - it's flat enough now. I wetted my fingers often.

Stretch #3 or 4 - it's flat enough now. I wetted my fingers often.

Mango chunk!

Mango chunk!

Working the mochi dough around filling from safely beneath the saran wrap.

Working the mochi dough around filling from safely beneath the saran wrap.

Enclosing going well...

Enclosing going well...

Success!

Success!

Gently rocking from side to side, to help the edges stick well and not break open

Gently rocking from side to side, to help the edges stick well and not break open

Thank goodness for that tiny bit of oil...

Thank goodness for that tiny bit of oil...

Plopped into the coconut

Plopped into the coconut

The final product! Upper one has cornstarch on it instead of coconut.

The final product! Upper one has cornstarch on it instead of coconut.

 

Bitten Mochi!

Bitten Mochi!

11 Comments

  1. spring said,

    Very cool and pretty and a lot of work!
    how did it tast?

  2. Kat said,

    I love mochi! They need to sell this in Miami. It would take off here.

  3. salon said,

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate
    your efforts and I will be waiting for your next post thank you once again.

  4. website said,

    I think this is one of the most significant

    information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But

    wanna remark on few general things, The website style is perfect, the articles is

    really great : D. Good job, cheers

  5. wedding planning said,

    Link exchange is nothing else however it is just placing the other person’s web site link on your page at suitable place and other person will also do same in support of you.

  6. online dating tips said,

    One can easily bluff about themselves in online dating, but this will be quite tough when someone is meeting with their counterpart face to face.
    But use it as a tool for just that: to locate potential dates.
    Surely, you will get hurt by a sudden rejection as a result of these lies told by you.

  7. miami8handy79.webs.com said,

    Hey, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, superb blog!

  8. Zachery said,

    Hi there exceptional website! Does running a blog such
    as this take a massive amount work? I have no knowledge of
    computer programming however I was hoping to start my own blog soon.
    Anyway, if you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners
    please share. I understand this is off topic nevertheless I simply needed to ask.
    Thank you!

  9. kendallsanbor.blogdetik.com said,

    Howdy very cool website!! Man .. Beautiful ..
    Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds also?
    I am satisfied to find numerous useful info right here in the put up, we’d like develop
    extra strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

  10. Carma said,

    Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few
    months of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

  11. abc i trek nepal said,

    Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content.
    Please let me know. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

